Wapice joins the key partners of Olympic medalist Joni Mäki

Wapice Ltd, a Finnish full-service software company, announces its sponsorship partnership with Vaasa-born Olympic and World Cup medalist cross-country skier Joni Mäki. The aim of the partnership is to build success and visibility for both parties.

Long-term sponsorship collaboration is based on shared values and the pursuit of success both domestically and internationally.

"Relationships and working together to succeed, as well as passion and fire to compete are values that Wapice can share. We are strongly on board with Joni's journey. It is a pleasure to support such a determined and goal-oriented athlete," says Pasi Tuominen, the CEO of Wapice.

"It's great to be working with a Vaasa-based success story. An innovative and up-to-date company like Wapice thrives in today's world. In skiing as well, in order to be successful, you need new ideas along to be able to develop your own doing as the sport changes." Joni says.

Both parties are looking forward to the upcoming season, especially the Finnish National Championships, including the Tampere Championships in January, as well as this season’s main goal; the upcoming World Championships in Planica in February-March. The main goal of Joni is the 2026 Olympic Games in Italy.


Joni in a nutshell

  • Joni Mäki was born in 1995 and he is a Finnish cross country skier. His national team is Pohti Ski Team.
  • Joni was born in Vaasa and lives now in Vuokatti.
  • World championships in 2021: team sprint silver medalist.
  • Olympic Games in Beijing 2022: team sprint silver medalist.
  • Joni won the “Finnish Cup” (Suomen Cup) overall in season 2021-2022
  • Next targets are WCS in Planica 2023, Trondheim WCS 2025, Olympic Games in Italy 2026 and also World Cup and national championships.

We wish Joni good training, good health, interesting skiing races and a successful competition season!

In the image starting from left: Leena Kari, Marjo Mähönen, Tarja Luopajärvi, Aukusti Perttula, Niina Nabb, Satu Hietamäki, Joni Mäki, Pasi Tuominen, Susanna Kytöharju and Anssi Turunen